Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One - Sound like a scam?

tag
o1977
New Contributor

Capital One - Sound like a scam?

I am happy that I got approved for a Captial One Platnium Mastercard with a limit of $500 - finally something more than the $300 limits I have been receiving.  I received the card and had no problem activating it.  Once I tried to use it I got declined.  I tried again at a different place just to be sure and was declined again.

I called Customer service and they informed me that there was a fraud alert on my account.  I told her I didn't understand why when this is a new card and it is my first time trying to use it.  She told me I would have to fax in a copy of my government ID, pay stub, banking account statement and utility bill to have the fraud alert removed and to prove I am who I say I am.  They said it would take 48 hours to 4 days to verify the documents and remove the alert.

This alarmed me because I have never had this happen before with a CC.  Even when I had a CC put a fraud alert on my account I would just call verify who I am and verify my last purchases and the hold would immediately be removed.

I don't know if this is because I applied over the phone?  Or if this is a new scam for people to take my identity.  I wanted to get feedback from everyone before I faxed my documents in to them.  All the emails and mail I have received from them looks legit - but I want to be 100% sure....

Thanks for any feedback you can give Smiley Surprised)

Equi:
4/9/10 = 521
8/3/10 = 564
9/16/10 = 578
11/7/10 = 612
11/24/10 = 641

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
cdtotten
Established Contributor

Re: Capital One - Sound like a scam?