Reply
Established Contributor
AndyK
Posts: 913
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)


Strepthroat wrote:

No special action on my part AndyK, just called the backdoor number (account specialist), about a minute later the card was changed.  Rec'd the new card a days later.  Wish I could offer you more, but all it took was a phone call.



Wow, that makes no sense to me. Even their executive office told me their hands are tied and they can't do any PCs on cards. I guess it just goes to show that nothing with Cap One makes any sense at all.

EQ 679 FICO (02/24/2012)
TU 721 FICO (03/10/2012)
EX 703 FICO (05/05/2012)

Cards: NFCU cashRewards $14k, NFCU Platinum $14k, USAA Amex $7k, Amazon Visa $3k, Chase Freedom $2.5k, Amex Zync NPSL, Discover More $1k, Amazon Store $1.3k, Walmart Store $700
Contributor
LilloEsquilo
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎05-08-2011
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)


AndyK wrote:

Strepthroat wrote:

No special action on my part AndyK, just called the backdoor number (account specialist), about a minute later the card was changed.  Rec'd the new card a days later.  Wish I could offer you more, but all it took was a phone call.



Wow, that makes no sense to me. Even their executive office told me their hands are tied and they can't do any PCs on cards. I guess it just goes to show that nothing with Cap One makes any sense at all.


Agreed. The only thing that seems to be different is calling the backdoor number. Obviously if you call their main number, I'd bet every penny I have you will get nowhere with this. But how did this work even calling the backdoor number? I'm clueless, even more than usual.

FICOS 2/2012 EQ: 763 TU: 761 EX: 746 (1/2012 EX)
Cards: Associated Bank Visa 9000, Paypal Mastercard 3000, Amazon Store card 1100, Barclays Apple Financing 2500, Cap One Rewards Mastercard 3000
Established Member
pabears
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)

so anyone else do a pc from capitalone and their aaoa didn't change??? i'm about to call them and request one (platinum 3K limit)

Regular Contributor
dmbtay
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎03-01-2012
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)

CO has become much stringier the last few years (probably many defaults).  They don't like doing product changes unless you have a seriously legit history.  They changed my wife's world MC to a venture, but that was merely from one excellent to another (same 9% APR).  For me, I had two platinum cards that I asked to be combined, they refused.  They refused credit limit increases as well.  So I did a brand new app with them for Venture card and was approved $5k w/ signature.  So weird.

Established Contributor
SwiftTone
Posts: 1,024
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)

I called their main number over the weekend seeking to do a PC on 2 of my platinum cards. First card has been open since 11/08 and the second card since 02/11, both with excellent payment history(their words, not mine). The second card actually has had 3 automatic CLI since opening from $300 to $1250. They said they that I was not eligible for a PC, both automatic or manual. They said I can apply for a VentureOne if I believed I have "excellent" credit, but I didn't apply because I wasn't really confident of that. My FICO is EQ 705 and TU 709.

 

A day later, I got an pre-qualified offer to apply for one of their other reward cards. **bleep** CapitalOne

BCE: $0/$11,200, CSP: $0/$6500, Chase Priority Club: $0/$3500, Freedom: $0/$5000, Barclays NFL: $0/$7000 Discover: $0/$10,000, Citi Dividend: $0/$3500

EQ FICO - 742
TU FICO - 734
EX FICO(AMEX) - 712
Established Member
pabears
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)

that's strange.......well, i might make the decision to call capitalone to see if they'll do the pc......

 

problem i guess i can forsee is that i've only used the card 4 different months (last 3 months) since i opened the card in dec 2010.

 

they did tell me a while back that if i can get a pc once i hit the limit (5K for my card, i'm at 3K, which is what i got when i first got the card)......so while it may be true i may, in the future, get a pc ONCE i hit 5K, the better question to consider is if i will ever hit 5K........

Established Member
pabears
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)

update: called to ask for a CLI and PC.

 

no on the cli (of course).

 

but the pc, the supervisor said that i am eligible for a ventureone product "upgrade" and she told me that all the terms (and the account opening date) would all remain the same..........but that i had to talk to a account specialist (not open when i called).

 

so i'll call tomorrow morning.

Mega Contributor
LS2982
Posts: 15,434
Registered: ‎04-09-2011
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)


AndyK wrote:

While I can't answer the AAOA question, I do know that Cap One is a real stickler with an PCs. I remember reading that they want you to have at least $5k credit lines before they'll issue you a Venture card (although that might have changed). Also, unless you have the Platinum Prestige, I doubt you're going to have much luck getting a PC.. going from an average/subprime card to one one of their excellent credit/prime cards in a PC would take some sort of miracle.

It definitely won't hurt to try! Worst they can say is no. But unless you're exceptionally lucky, I doubt you'll have much luck with them. It is Cap One, after all. They seem to want you to re-apply any time you want any sort of product change.


+1




Silver Spade Garden Club Member - Last App 12/16/13 - Looking for a clean slate NO INQ's / Diamond Inspired!
Starting Score:
EX (PLUS) 583 EQ FICO 565 TU FICO 590 3/15/2011 / Goal Scores: 720
Current Score: EX FICO (PSECU) 671 (myFICO) N/A / EQ FICO 679 / TU08 FICO 678 / TU VS 706 3/6/2014
Established Contributor
SwiftTone
Posts: 1,024
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)

which phone number did you call?

BCE: $0/$11,200, CSP: $0/$6500, Chase Priority Club: $0/$3500, Freedom: $0/$5000, Barclays NFL: $0/$7000 Discover: $0/$10,000, Citi Dividend: $0/$3500

EQ FICO - 742
TU FICO - 734
EX FICO(AMEX) - 712
Regular Contributor
Gollum
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎10-09-2011
0

Re: CapitalOne Product Change (Platinum to Venture?)


pabears wrote:

update: called to ask for a CLI and PC.

 

no on the cli (of course).

 

but the pc, the supervisor said that i am eligible for a ventureone product "upgrade" and she told me that all the terms (and the account opening date) would all remain the same..........but that i had to talk to a account specialist (not open when i called).

 

so i'll call tomorrow morning.


Before you make your decision, google for

 

NPSL credit card

 

Capital One Venture One is an NPSL card (it is a Visa Signature card).


myFICO is the consumer division of FICO. Since its introduction 20 years ago, the FICO® Score has become a global standard for measuring credit risk in the banking, mortgage, credit card, auto and retail industries. 90 of the top 100 largest U.S. financial institutions use the FICO Score to make consumer credit decisions.

>> About myFICO
FICO Score - The Score that matters
Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Fair Isaac Corporation is a BBB Accredited Financial Service in San Rafael, CA
FOLLOW US Social Media Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google+