Reply
Established Member
pabears
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
0

CapitalOne "good useage" CLI

I just got off the phone with capone and they said my card has a limit of 5K (currently at 3K, haven't asked for a cli, worried about the HP). i've had it for a year but only used it 4 different months.  they said if i used it regularly for 6-8 months i would qualify for auto increases; furthermore once i reached my 5K limit via cli, they would PC me to a card with the same annual fee (none in my case) but with a higher credit limit ceiling.

 

is this true in practice or is the "possibility" exactly that: possible but rarely happens.

 

thanks.

Mega Contributor
LS2982
Posts: 15,434
Registered: ‎04-09-2011
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI


pabears wrote:

I just got off the phone with capone and they said my card has a limit of 5K (currently at 3K, haven't asked for a cli, worried about the HP). i've had it for a year but only used it 4 different months.  they said if i used it regularly for 6-8 months i would qualify for auto increases; furthermore once i reached my 5K limit via cli, they would PC me to a card with the same annual fee (none in my case) but with a higher credit limit ceiling.

 

is this true in practice or is the "possibility" exactly that: possible but rarely happens.

 

thanks.


+1,000,000




Silver Spade Garden Club Member - Last App 12/16/13 - Looking for a clean slate NO INQ's / Diamond Inspired!
Starting Score:
EX (PLUS) 583 EQ FICO 565 TU FICO 590 3/15/2011 / Goal Scores: 720
Current Score: EX FICO (PSECU) 671 (myFICO) N/A / EQ FICO 679 / TU08 FICO 678 / TU VS 706 3/6/2014
Established Contributor
namvet
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI


LS2982 wrote:

pabears wrote:

I just got off the phone with capone and they said my card has a limit of 5K (currently at 3K, haven't asked for a cli, worried about the HP). i've had it for a year but only used it 4 different months.  they said if i used it regularly for 6-8 months i would qualify for auto increases; furthermore once i reached my 5K limit via cli, they would PC me to a card with the same annual fee (none in my case) but with a higher credit limit ceiling.

 

is this true in practice or is the "possibility" exactly that: possible but rarely happens.

 

thanks.


+1,000,000


   It is possible but you will need to be pro-active for this to happen.

Moderator Emeritus
tinuviel
Posts: 4,877
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI


pabears wrote:

I just got off the phone with capone and they said my card has a limit of 5K (currently at 3K, haven't asked for a cli, worried about the HP). i've had it for a year but only used it 4 different months.  they said if i used it regularly for 6-8 months i would qualify for auto increases; furthermore once i reached my 5K limit via cli, they would PC me to a card with the same annual fee (none in my case) but with a higher credit limit ceiling.

 

is this true in practice or is the "possibility" exactly that: possible but rarely happens.

 

thanks.


 

I suppose it's theoretically possible, but rarely, if ever, happens.

 

I've had my Cap1 MC since Oct 2010. I've used it every single month, often running about $1500/mo through it, never late, and PIF several times a month to stay under the CL. I had one increase in the CS program and have stayed at $750 ever since. My FICO scores have increased significantly since I was first approved for the card, my util on other accounts hovers between 0% - 3%. In short, I should be a prime candidate for an increase.

 

And so, I've come to terms with the fact that this card is highly unlikely to grow with me, no matter how well I use it. As of this month, it's been bumped out of the #1 spot in my wallet in favor of my Amex.


Current Scores: EQ 775 (03/04/2014), EX 756 (03/01/2014), TU 760 (03/01/2014)
Ruby Spade Garden Club Member - Last App: 03/04/2013 - No apps until 2014
Cards: Cap1 Venture 6.4k, Cap1 Quicksilver MC 1.75k, BankAmericard 1-2-3 Visa Signature - UCF Alumni Association 5k, Discover 7k, Citi Diamond Preferred MC 10.35k, Wells Fargo Rewards Visa 7k, Chase Freedom 5k, Chase Ink 7.5k, Amex Green NPSL, Dillard's Amex 7.5k, JC Penney 7.5k, Kay Jeweler's 5.1k
Super Contributor
CS800
Posts: 6,551
Registered: ‎04-07-2008
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI


pabears wrote:

I just got off the phone with capone and they said my card has a limit of 5K (currently at 3K, haven't asked for a cli, worried about the HP). i've had it for a year but only used it 4 different months.  they said if i used it regularly for 6-8 months i would qualify for auto increases; furthermore once i reached my 5K limit via cli, they would PC me to a card with the same annual fee (none in my case) but with a higher credit limit ceiling.

 

is this true in practice or is the "possibility" exactly that: possible but rarely happens.

 

thanks.


I have given up trying to understand and the logic behind cap one's decisions. they are so random and nonsensical that trying to understand them would only give you acid reflux.

 

My card has a cap of $3000, never got a CLI despite good use and PIF. I was told, I dont use the card enough. I would use it every month sometimes close to its $500 C and pif. I was also told that this card cannot be changed to another card and I will have to re-apply.

 

My only conclusion is that they have many tiers of sub prime cards coded differently. If you're lucky enough to get in a tier that grows (assuming that exists) you will be fine. I just happened to have gotten the worse tier. Peggy wasn't of any help either :smileyhappy:

 


 




Moderator
pizzadude
Posts: 9,674
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI

 

----->  My only conclusion is that they have many tiers of sub prime cards coded differently. If you're lucky enough to get in a tier that grows (assuming that exists) you will be fine.

 

+1.   If you have a CL of $3K already, you are at or near the max for most of their rebuilder cards.   Hopefully yours will grow beyond that but It's not likely given how Cap1 operates....

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Super Contributor
CS800
Posts: 6,551
Registered: ‎04-07-2008
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI


pizzadude wrote:

 

+1.   If you have a CL of $3K already, you are at or near the max for most of their rebuilder cards.   Hopefully yours will grow beyond that but It's not likely given how Cap1 operates....



I closed the card since i never got a CLI in 4 years and was stuck at $500 with an AF of $60. They did flaunt how this card was great and had a ceiling of $3k. I asked the account supervisor 'And how is this supposed to help me knowing that this card has been in good standing and I never got a CLI or even an AF decrease?'

 

There was silence.




Moderator
pizzadude
Posts: 9,674
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI

 

CS800, that is unfortunately the rule rather than the exception with Cap1.   I agree if you don't need the CL for utilization its best to close it and move on.

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Contributor
Karunch
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎01-31-2008
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI

[ Edited ]

pabears wrote:

I just got off the phone with capone and they said my card has a limit of 5K......

 


How were you able to find out what the maximum credit line for you account was?  Did you have to call the backdoor number to speak to an Account Specialist?  I tried calling Capital One at the regular Customer Service number, and the nice person whom appeared to be from an overseas call center didn't really get what I was trying to ask.  I was told that the maximum CL would be $30,000....  I'm sure that would be possible right after hell freezes over, or they were referring to the maximum CL for an "excellent credit" Venture Card or something.  I'm pretty sure that my Platinum cards that have been stuck at  $2,000 and $1,500 CL's for the past 3 years would never be able to go up that high. 


Starting Score: 686 EQ (8/9/12), 668 TU (WalMart 8/8/12), 685 EX (3/25/14)
Most Recent Score: 684 EQ (3/26/14), 688 TU (3/25/14), 685 EX (3/25/14)
Goal Score: 700+


Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Established Contributor
2NE1
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
0

Re: CapitalOne "good useage" CLI


Karunch wrote:

pabears wrote:

I just got off the phone with capone and they said my card has a limit of 5K......

 


How were you able to find out what the maximum credit line for you account was?  Did you have to call the backdoor number to speak to an Account Specialist?  I tried calling Capital One at the regular Customer Service number, and the nice person whom appeared to be from an overseas call center didn't really get what I was trying to ask.  I was told that the maximum CL would be $30,000....  I'm sure that would be possible right after hell freezes over, or they were referring to the maximum CL for an "excellent credit" Venture Card or something.  I'm pretty sure that my Platinum cards that have been stuck at  $2,000 and $1,500 CL's for the past 3 years would never be able to go up that high. 


I suggest you call the Backdoor numbers so you won't get foreigners answering your calls! :smileytongue:


Starting Score: 486 EQ, 529 TU, 518 EX 12/6/2011 (FICOS - lender pull)
Current Score: 595 EQ SW 1/10/13 628 TU08 1/10/2013 593 EX (BoA HP) 1/5/12
Goal Score: > 620
Take the FICO Fitness Challenge! | Diamond Spade Garden Club Member: App free since 7/2012

myFICO is the consumer division of FICO. Since its introduction 20 years ago, the FICO® Score has become a global standard for measuring credit risk in the banking, mortgage, credit card, auto and retail industries. 90 of the top 100 largest U.S. financial institutions use the FICO Score to make consumer credit decisions.

>> About myFICO
FICO Score - The Score that matters
Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Fair Isaac Corporation is a BBB Accredited Financial Service in San Rafael, CA
FOLLOW US Social Media Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google+
}