Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Card Suggestions from seasoned members?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Card Suggestions from seasoned members?

A little background info:

- I am fairly new to the credit world, only been building credit for about 2 years, oldest account is 29 months old, newest reported is 3 months - averaging about 17 months. 

- My scores according to Credit Karma: Equifax-696 and TransUnion-683. My score according to Credit.com: Experian-714

* I received my FICO from a car dealership within the last few days and my TransUnion score was a 735.

* I will hopefully be purchasing my FICO scores sooner rather than later

- Like I mentioned, a dealership just pulled my credit score because I just leased a new vehicle. I also just applied and got approved for a Chase Freedom card but that has not shown up on the reports yet.

- Not factoring in the Freedom card because I haven't received or activated yet, I have two open credit cards - one with Capital One and one with Citizens Bank - and then a Victoria's Secret store card and a line of credit from PayPal.

- I have never made a late payment, my utilization is about 8 or 9%, no negative marks on my report, never had anything in collections.

- I have more than 5 inquiries on all reports.

Now, I am mostly interested in cash back rewards as I don't travel enough for travel benefits. I also want to avoid Discover and Barclays. 

Given the information provided, what do you think I should go for, if anything? Just looking for an expert opinion here! 

Message 1 of 28
27 REPLIES 27
driftless
Valued Contributor

Re: Card Suggestions from seasoned members?

Now that you have added Freedom, I would just grow the cards that you have for the time being.
CSR | Amex Platinum | EDP | QS (2)
Amex Blue Business Plus
Message 2 of 28
kdm31091
Super Contributor

I would agree, just use the Freedom and let it grow for awhile. There's no rush.

Message 3 of 28
Anonymous
Not applicable