Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Card suggestions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Card suggestions

I am a looking to do some apping but just cant really decide on which cards to apply for. My TU FICO is 761 with the following accounts:

AU on Discover Card, opened 01'

AU on American Express, Gold, opened 82'

Primary on Cap1 Card, opened October 10'

Fed Student Loan for $2,500, opened September 09'

AAoA= 8 years

Only 1 inq on the report

My score is with util of 76% but that will be zero since I just paid the balances to 0, so I would expect a slight increase in scores.
I know some companies are senstive to AUs and my score is driven by them mostly. I'd like some cards with decent cash back and high CLs. I am a student and work part time. What do you guys suggest?

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Amnesia87
Contributor

Re: Card suggestions

What kind of balance do you have on the Cap1?

One card I would recommend is the Citi Forward, at least if the rewards suit you, I know they were perfect for me. 5x points on Movies Music Books and Restaurants (which includes fast food and works for some bars, oh, and Amazon is considered a book store so... eh?) and 1x points everywhere else.

I also am really loving my Blue Cash Preferred, and the rewards match really well with the Forward, 6% back on supermarkets, 3% on department stores and gas, 1% back everywhere else, but that's going to be a harder card to get with limited credit history (I understand your AAoA, but I'm not sure how that would actually factor in with Amex since they use their own scoring system)

You may also want to look into CU cards if you want to get some decent limits, I'm going for PSECU and Alliant myself, but theres always lots of good things to be said about Penfed as well. If you are eligable, I would definately say get an NFCU account, they are supposed to be one of the best CU and give great limits.