Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chances of getting Citi AA as a college student

tag
ebaniaga
Established Member

Chances of getting Citi AA as a college student

I was wondering what my chances were in approval for the Citi AA Plat Select Card (with the bonus of 35,000 miles).  I am a student with a 5000k income and FICO scores of TU - 750 and EQ - 677.  I anticipate my scores should increase a little as I hit August, when I will apply for the card, because I will have a longer history and less inquiries.  I currently have 4 student loans and my longest account will be a 1year1mo (a Discover Student CC with a $500 CL).  I believe that by the time I apply for the card, the Discover Student CC should be reporting a higher CL as I will have requested it in July.

It looks like a pretty hard card to get, but seeing as I fly AA to get to and from school, I'd go for it.  Would I have better chances with the CitiForward or the Amex Zync?

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
smc733
Valued Contributor

Re: Chances of getting Citi AA as a college student

You almost definitely won't get it.  For them to give you those bonus miles, they have to expect you to spend a certain amount on the card, and a $5k student salary isn't going to cut it.  College students today are pretty much limited to two types of cards

1.  Those specifically designated for students.

2.  Those designed for people looking to build or rebuild credit.

I'm a student with a $15k income, and a student loan at 9 months.  After 3 months of a BofA secured card, I got the Citi Forward card with a $1,200 limit.  I would recommend following my same pattern, go for the Forward Card.  You won't get approved for Zync unless you have a revolving balance, hell, I have three accounts on my CR, and they denied me purely because my history was too short.  So I plan on going for the Zync again in late November or early December.

So anyway, my recommendation is:

-Citi Forward now, and if approved,