Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Freedom, Chase Freedom Unlimited, or Chase Sapphire Preferred

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase Freedom, Chase Freedom Unlimited, or Chase Sapphire Preferred

Hey all, I'm a frequent browser of these forums and finally decided to make an account because I need to pick your minds about where to go upon picking out my next credit card. I'm fairly new to the credit card game, but I love the rewards and figure since I'm going to be spending money anyways, why not earn some extra perks on the side.

As far as my credit history, according to CreditKarma, my TU = 730 and my EQ = 723. I have one credit card from my credit union (Opened Sept 2015, $500 Limit) and a Citi Double Cash (Opened April 2016, $3000 Limit). I use my DC card exclusively due to the 2% cash back and pay my bill so that my utilization is less than 5%.

Currently, I am in graduate school and my income will consist of loans for the next 2 years until I finish. I will have some pretty hefty expenses coming up with airfare, conferences, and hotels, so any sign-on bonus that is available I should be able to hit without a problem. My day-to-day spending isn't very much (besides rent, utilities) and consists mostly of Target for groceries and gas for my commute to school and around the area as long as the occassional drink or dinner out.

I'm looking into the Chase program because of the ability to transfer the points 1:1 to United and also book flights through their Ultimate Rewards Program. Also, I am pre-approved on their website for both the Chase Freedom and Chase Sapphire Reserve cards. I plan on getting married in the next few years and I would love to be able to surprise my girlfriend with a vacation with the points that I've earned! I know that in order to do this, you need to have a "Tier 2" card, or the CSP or something similar and that points can transfer from a "Tier 1" (Freedom, Freedom Unlimited) to a "Tier 2".