Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Freedom One Day Late! Ugh...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase Freedom One Day Late! Ugh...

I've been working so hard on my credit for the past 1 1/2 years. Perfect history on everything. So I've been sick in bed the last week and didnt start feeling better until today. I finally get up and check my email and I have an email saying my Chase Freedom payment was due yesterdaySmiley Sad. I immediately paid it. I called in and without me asking the rep reversed my late fee and told me my APR wont be affected.Ok thats a good thing. I also know that it wont be reported to my credit. Im only concerned that this will stay in their internal system and prevent me from any increases or new cards in the future....Anyone with this same experience? I have also setup up autopay on my cards. I dont care for autopay and I usually PIF but I dont want this to ever happen again. I know this may seem petty to some but im sure to anyone that has came from a similiar credit situation and built there self back up understands how these little things stress you out. Can Chase backdate a late payment to the due date?

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Chase Freedom One Day Late! Ugh...

I don't know the answer to your question about how this might effect CLI in the future, but just wanted to comment that this is where a bank like Chase really shines over some of the bottom feeders. Just that they sent you an email on the first day you were past due, instead of just letting it be until you were (potentially) in a lot worse shape. (I realize you would likely have caught it yourself before it got to that point, but some people don't).

Also, I think you did well to set up autopay now. I have it in place as a safety net. Like you, I prefer not to use it, and I always pay in full before the autopay kicks in. But I have it there just in case.

Message 2 of 17
ddemari
Super Contributor