Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Freedom Visa...worth the recon?

tag
VeggieTales
Established Member

Chase Freedom Visa...worth the recon?

Hi all!

So I app'd for the Chase Freedom Visa and the Citi Dividend on the same day and got approved for Dividend but denied for Chase. I got the denial notice today in the mail from Chase and they cited their reason as "current obligations too high relative to income". What exactly does that mean? I'm currently a grad student with a $30,000 income if that helps. My cards and their limits are in my siggy. My reason for wanting both cards is to ultimately replace the Cap1 cards I've been using to build my credit. I'm not a big fan of Chase, but I thought I would try to apply anyway. So that's why I'm not too motivated for trying a recon. Do you think I should? 

Oh my Experian FICO that I received with my Citi Dividend approval notice is 718 

Thanks in advance 

Chase $4K | Citi Dividend Platinum Select $2K | Citi Forward $2K | Capital One Platinum $2K | Discover IT $1.6K| Capital One Journey $750 | Bank of America Cash Rewards $500 | Macy's Store $500 |
Starting Score: 652 (TU, 04/15)
Current Score: 652 (TU, 04/15)
Goal Score: 800

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
djrez4
Established Contributor

Re: Chase Freedom Visa...worth the recon?

Do you have balances on those cards?  Student loans outstanding?

Message 2 of 15
maiden_girl
Valued Contributor

@VeggieTales wrote:

Hi all!