cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Freedom recon denied for short credit history

tag
victoriasnow

Chase Freedom recon denied for short credit history

I applied Chase Freedom yesterday and got the 7-10 day message. So I called the recon earlier today and was told that my app was denied due to limited credit history. I am a 19 year old college student. I only have one BankAmericard Secured and one Citi Forward on my credit report. I have been using BankAmericard Secured for almost 10 months, and I opened my Citi Forward 4 months ago. I have made all my payments on time and kept my utilization under 10% every time. My credit score is 676. Just got approved by Discover It a week ago which hasn't been updated to my credit report yet.  Should I call them again? I heard the chance of being approved by Chase Freedom is very low with less than 1 year credit history.

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
HiLine
Blogger

Re: Chase Freedom recon denied for short credit history

Doesn't hurt to try. When I was in your shoes, I gave up and waited till I hit my second year to re-apply. You may be luckier.

Message 2 of 10
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

try for discover!

Message 3 of 10
ExplicitElicit
Established Contributor

I applied and was approved just 8 months after my 18th bday.. Granted my profile was thicker with an auto loan and 3 cc's but my AAoA had to of been horrid as I had just opened 2 of those cards. 

-sorry for typos-iPhone 5S

Message 4 of 10
bk510
Valued Contributor

@victoriasnow wrote: