tag
FicoScore626
Frequent Contributor

Re: Chase Platinum = Chase Freedom?

@BP2003 wrote:

@FicoScore626 wrote:

@BungalowMo wrote:

@FicoScore626 wrote:
Which one is their most basic card? Basically the card that people with good but not excellent credit stand a chance of getting approved for?

What are your scores & baddies?

My scores aren't satisfactory yet (663 TransUnion FICO, 644 Equifax FICO, and 654 Experian PLUS) but they've been improving every month. But I was thinking that at least 6 months - 1 year from now I'd apply for a Chase card since acquiring a Chase credit card is one of my main goals since I've been banking with them since 2003.. I've got my utilization under control. TransUnion has it at 4%, Equifax has it at 3% and Experian has the percentage of my Revolving Credit Available as 97%. I plan on maintaining and even lowering the utilization percentages over the course of the next few months in hopes of bettering my scores.

My baddies are a bunch of late payments on my student loan. The worst of which happened sometime between 2003 - 2005.. The most recent ones are over a year old. On the plus side, one of my student loans is about to get obliterated early next month and then I can focus on getting rid of the second loan, hopefully before the new year.

I wasted an inquiry applying for the Amazon visa (what the hell was I thinking??) and Chase sent me a denial letter stating that I had too many recent inquiries. They didn't even mention any of the baddies.Same thing with Capital One, so that gives me a little bit of hope. Smiley Happy