cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Sapphire Preferred - Do I stand a chance?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase Sapphire Preferred - Do I stand a chance?

Hello, newbie here! I'm wondering if I have any chance at all for qualifying for Chase Sapphire Preferred card.

I'm presently a student, working part time making ~$14k a year. I have a Visa card with a $3k limit. Always pay it in full every month, never missed a payment. I doubt this has any bearing, but I've also been a user on my parent's AA Advantage Visa with a $50k limit (the only reason I mention this is because it seemed to favorably affect my debt ratio and that it also has a clean history - no missed payments, paid in full every month, etc). My only inquiry in my history is the one from my personal Visa card. I checked my scores a few months ago and they were roughly 760 - 790. More than anything though I'm worried about the income part.

Should I apply? Or are the odds against me here.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
CreditPacMan
Established Contributor

Re: Chase Sapphire Preferred - Do I stand a chance?

You are right - your income could be an issue. Why not try the regular Sapphire? It seems to be easier to get from what I've read around here.

Current Cards:
Message 2 of 24
hizzaah
Frequent Contributor

Did you check the pre-approval site? When is the last time you got a limit increase on your current Visa? What do you plan on using the card for?

QuickSilver - $20,000 | Amex ED $12,000 | Commence $5,000 | IT $2,200 | Freedom $2,000
Message 3 of 24
Anonymous
Not applicable

whats your AAoA average age of accounts and length of history?

Message 4 of 24
bigblue7722
Valued Contributor

you might have a good shot but the income is kinda hurting you. I would suggest looking at the freedom for now cause of no AF. The CSP has a 95 AF you just cant justify that with your income. But you should get the freedom anyways to max out your points.