Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Statement Due Date / Pending Transactions Questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase Statement Due Date / Pending Transactions Questions

Hi!

I am new to credit / credit card and would like to build my credit by keeping my utilization ratio low.

I have a Chase Freedom with a credit limit of $1000, and my goal is to keep my balance between $50~$100 (5%~10% utilization ratio) when the statement cuts.

My statement due date is Sep. 19 according to Chase.

Currently I have a balance around $50, and there are some pending transactions in my account ($60~), I plan on spending approximately $150 for car rental this weekend.

The problem is, I have no idea when the pending transactions will be charged to my card.

Usually I will be paying my balance a few days before my statement due date, and PIF again after the statement cuts.

However, at this point I only have a balance of $50~ which is fine, the problem is that I can't pay for the pending transactions in advance.

What if the $150 car rental fee and the other pending $60 are still in pending status next Monday but got charged to my account on Sep. 19 (Tuesday), which is the same day as my statement due date?

Then my utilization ratio will exceed 26%.

Is there any suggestions on how should I pay my bill correctly?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
mkhan1093
Established Contributor

Re: Chase Statement Due Date / Pending Transactions Questions