Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Ultimate Rewards vs AMEX Membership Rewards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase Ultimate Rewards vs AMEX Membership Rewards

I currently have the Chase Freedom and I'm planning on getting the AMEX Zync. Since I do travel occasionally (I'm an international student at the moment), I'm wondering which program is better worth the investment. If the UR, then I can always app for the CSP and stick with UR, if the MR, then I can always PC or app for the AMEX Green to get the MR benefits. Any suggestions or opinions on this matter?
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
jsucool76
Super Contributor

Re: Chase Ultimate Rewards vs AMEX Membership Rewards

From what I've heard the zync doesn't get MR points, it gets MRe points (or something similar) which aren't worth as much during conversion as the regular MR points. Hopefully someone who actually has the card will step in and explain the specifics Smiley Very Happy 

Message 2 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes but if I get the AMEX Green later on (if I decide to stick with the MR program) then I can transfer the Express points to the full MR program.

I do want the ZYNC just so I can get the BCP later on in life but if the MR program is better then I'll app for the Green as well. If not, then I'll just go with the CSP. But I'm just having trouble which package is a better fit Smiley Frustrated

Message 3 of 13
jsucool76
Super Contributor

Well I know if you qualify for the green you can always downgrade to zync if you don't want to pay the higher AF, not sure if you can upgrade back though. Either way the zync is a really easy way to get your foot in the door with amex. 

Message 4 of 13
YahComb
Established Contributor

From what i understand, Zync by itself is the less valuable MRE points, but if you pair it with a Regular MR card, you can use your zync bonus categories to rack up regular MR points.

EQ-736(08/14) TU-752(09/14)
Newest to Oldest