Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase low into apr, should I beware?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase low into apr, should I beware?

I recently paid off $7500 with a personal loan on two chase accounts becase they increased the apr to 29% because we had a couple of lale payments over a year ago. I wouldn't low the rate even after multiple calls and on time for a year.

Now I got an intro offer for 4.99% for two years and would like to move some of my other debt to this card, but I don't know if I can trust them from jacking up the rate again even in the intro peroid. 

I am around 675 equifaxn and have been on time for with everything for over a year. 

I am a newbie and any advice would be greatly appreciated. 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Locksley123
Regular Contributor

Re: Chase low into apr, should I beware?

Any decision a lender makes is not targeted specifically at you, but at your risk profile. As I understand you had high balance with them and a late, which triggered some flags and gave a reason for their risk management system to increased your APR. When you paid it off and showed a pattern of paying on time, you effectively moved into lower risk category and thus received balance transfer offer. 

Is there a balance transfer fee associated with this offer? If there is none, I would definitely take it. If there is one, do cost/benefit analysis to see if BT would be justified. Most likely if the amount is large, the answer is "yes". Your worst case scenario is that they would raise APR.This new APR will be lower than the default APR, so most likely in 15%-20% range at worst. If this is worse than the current rate you are paying, you can always do reverse BT.

Hope it helps. 

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase just had to settle with NY because of exactly what you're talking about.  There's also a class action.  Check the Consumer Man article on msnbc.com .

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable