Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Closing 5 store CC's Good o rBad?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Closing 5 store CC's Good o rBad?

I'm totally new to this, I'm in my early 20's and trying to maintain good credit to purchase a house within the next 3 years. Currently I have about 22k in debt (car/student loans) but I have a 740 credit score. I was shocked to see 21 accounts listed after going through all of them there are 5 store cards I'm able to close with $0 balance, these cards havent been used in over a year... they all have balances to about $500 each but again are completely inactive. Should I close these accounts if they are not active? I'm only concerned if this will drop my overall score? Thanks for your time, its much appreciated!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Closing 5 store CC's Good o rBad?

Hi MaggieBoo & welcome aboard! Smiley Happy

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm totally new to this, I'm in my early 20's and trying to maintain good credit to purchase a house within the next 3 years. Currently I have about 22k in debt (car/student loans) but I have a 740 credit score. I was shocked to see 21 accounts listed after going through all of them there are 5 store cards I'm able to close with $0 balance, these cards havent been used in over a year... they all have balances to about $500 each but again are completely inactive. Should I close these accounts if they are not active? I'm only concerned if this will drop my overall score? Thanks for your time, its much appreciated!

It's awesome that you've recognized the need for good credit at an early age, and have made a concerted effort to maintain a good history. Have you had an opportunity to read Fused's Closing Credit Cards yet? It'll give you a ton a great information to consider in your decision of whether to close or not.