Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Co-signed w/ someone that went BK

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Co-signed w/ someone that went BK

Hey ya'll,

Here's my situation and i'm wondering if anyone can help or share some info.

Back in 2001 I co-signed a Circuit CIty store card with someone and got a credit limit of 5K. About 4 years ago that person filled BK and cleared all of their CC. Now with my name on it they started addressing the statements to me to finish paying off a computer, i think there is like 1K left on it. However this account does not show up on any of my credit reports and i've been paying it for the past 2 years.

Is there any way to get this to report on my CR and with the 7 year history?? I understand I would take on the account fully which is perfectly fine with me. Anyone have any information on a situation like this. I would love to get the history, the CL, and the perfect payment history, thank you..
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Co-signed w/ someone that went BK

Have you tried calling the company and finding out? Has your friend said anything about it being on his/her reports still?
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

No i haven't called yet, i was going to do that tomorrow.. I havent talked to the person in awhile so i'm not sure if it's on their report. I just wanted to see if anyone has had a experience like this before.
Message 3 of 8
thrasher865
Valued Contributor

Good for you for paying it.  That is the agreement when you co-sign, but a lot of people don't see it that way, lol.  Because they never expect their buddy to default.  It seems like more often than not, a co-signer backs out of a loan that the main party can't pay. 

But thats completely off-topic.

I would call or write a letter saying that if they expect you to pay it, you expect to get credit for paying it.

Starting Score: EQ: 665 - TU: 687
Current Score: EQ: 749 - TU: ---
Goal Score: EQ: 760 - TU: 760

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge