Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

College Cards...

tag
Schoolbuskid
Valued Contributor

College Cards...

CCC's that offer college/student cards do they actually check to see if you are in school? Also arent these cards easier to get than others?
Rebuilding and Reducing Debt, is my game plan.
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
dizbuster
Frequent Contributor

Re: College Cards...

I just apped the Citi MTVu card. I was denied because of a BK in 04. I am not a traditional student as I'm 32 years old, but I am a full time student. I don't know if they verified my student status. I probably didn't make it past the credit stage. Smiley Sad I have heard the student cards are easier to get, but I wouldn't count on it with any baddies, probably just a limited credit history. IMO
A smooth sea never made a skilled mariner.
7/6/2009 Equ 664 TU 680 (15 and 19 point jump respectively this week, over 100 point increase in 6 months)
Message 2 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

I got a US Bank student visa during my 2nd year of college. I had absolutely nothing on my credit report at the time, and I had no problems getting the card. I do think I had savings & checking with them, though. I don't remember if I needed any proof of school, but I do know that after I graduated college they automatically product-changed me to the Select Rewards card. So I guess I'm not much help with your questions, but if you're looking for a student card then I'd definitely recommend US Bank.
Message 3 of 13
Schoolbuskid
Valued Contributor

What type of scores does US bank like to see? I will be starting school in Aug!
Message 4 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable