cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused About Closing Authorized User Credit Card Accounts...PLEASE HELP!!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Confused About Closing Authorized User Credit Card Accounts...PLEASE HELP!!!

Hello Everyone, 

I am an older student who went back to school with some credit card debt.  I had to take private student loans which require I pay the interest (based on LIBOR) monthly.  So, I have to keep a 680 credit score to maintain the loan.   I had excellent credit (upper 780, 800, 810) before school, but the student loans seem to be dropping my score.  Last November my score dropped to 650 because the student loan company stated I paid the account too early.  It took 4 months, but they removed the late pay from my account.  But my score only moved to 680.    My students financial aid counselor suggested that I piggyback on my friends or family credit cards to improve the score when it dropped.

My score was 698 on 6/2012, but when I checked it today it plummeted to 669.  So I am wondering how to get this to improve?  I have 4 negatives listed:

1.High credit usage --> I don't use them, but without a job I can't pay them down.  The people I piggyback on do.  

2.New account too recent--> Student loan 7/2012

3. Accounts with balances-->23 (17 installments from student loans, 6 revolving).  

4.  Credit card balances-->  14 accounts 6 with balances.  4 are piggybacks.  2 of the piggybacks are almost maxed out.  

Any suggestions on improving the score.  I was thinking I can close the piggybacks that have the high balances.  I need it up fast to apply for a student loan in January.

You guys seem to know your stuff, so it looks like I need a Christmas miracle.

THANKS!

Length of Credit History: 17 Years, 5 Months 
Average Account Age: 6 Years, 1 Months

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
daybreakgonesXe
Valued Contributor

Re: Confused About Closing Authorized User Credit Card Accounts...PLEASE HELP!!!

@Anonymous wrote: