Valued Member
littlelottie

Considering Recon with Discover/Barclay

Hi. I'm new to the boards and pretty new with handling credit. I'm a senior in college and just started applying for credit cards.  I've recently been able to get a card with a CL of $500 from my local credit union and lines of credit from Amazon ($400) and Paypal ($300). I applied for the Discover More Student card because I thought it would be fairly easy to get approved due to my limited credit history, mid-range scores (all in the 640 to 680 range), and because I'm a student. I was given the 30 day processing answer after I applied.  I checked the status a few days later and was told that I was denied. I also applied for Barclay's Apple financing and their Barnes and Noble card.  They also were denied due to "too few accounts with satisfactory status."  I wanted to know if anyone thought it would be wise to recon for Discover or Barclays. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Starting Score (January 2013): TU: 704, EQ: 679, EX: 687
Current Score (September 2013): TU: 741. EQ: 703, EX: 712
Goal Score: 730 Across the Board

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Valued Member
cuwhite5

Re: Considering Recon with Discover/Barclay

Yes, do a recon. There is no need for you to take the hits on your reports. If your credit is clean and you're able to explain some things, you may be approved. I was denied 2 times on my recons by Barclay and the 3rd time was when they approved. So go for it.

Starting Score: TU 717 EQ 701
Current Score: TU 794 EQ 760 DISCOVER MONTHLY 799 JUNE 2014) 807 TU BARCLAYCARD (JUNE2014)
Goal Score: 800

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge

Valued Contributor
Mustanglvr2006

cuwhite5 wrote:
Yes, do a recon. There is no need for you to take the hits on your reports. If your credit is clean and you're able to explain some things, you may be approved. I was denied 2 times on my recons by Barclay and the 3rd time was when they approved. So go for it.

+1

Always recon, always, always, always.