Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contemplating first BT need some help please

tag
Marcos8
Established Contributor

Contemplating first BT need some help please

Hello all. I have accumulated over the last month balances on all of my cards due to an impromptu vacation and having to take a seminar that was quite expensive. I'm currently looking at around 8k distributed amongst 4 cards. Current profile is as follows:

BOA 3506/25000

Amex 1902/27000

Cap1 1484/9000

Chase 949/10200

i know this will take months to bring down so I would like to simplify things and centralize the debt at 0% on my BOA card as interest will be added to each of these balances. This will also allow me to get 3/4 cards to report at zero next month to maybe offset putting the BOA card at approximately 30-32% UTL including the 4% transfer fees. Would that take the BOA card too high and make them squeamish?

I have never done a balance transfer before is there anything else I need to consider? Thanks

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Contemplating first BT need some help please

that shouldn't be an issue. they're happy to get their 4% lol. as long as you pay over the minimum and they can tell you're wanting to pay it off then they should be fine
Message 2 of 14
Marcos8
Established Contributor

When a bank offers a BT offer... that can be used more than once right? Ie the offer they have can be used for transferring 3 balances to them and not one? How long will this take for the other cards to be paid off? What kind of info will BOA ask for? Do they just need account numbers or should I have addresses etc ready to input as well? 

Thanks

Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable