Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Costco Amex membership requirement

tag
NewSurrender
Contributor

Costco Amex membership requirement

So my aunt is a Costco member, and I'm not. I was told that she can add two people in the same household to her membership, as long as they live in the same household (I do, since I'm a college student). If I was added to her Costco membership, would that make me eligible for an American Express True Earnings card? And, if I was eligible, what would happen when I moved out in two years? Would my card be cancelled? Or would I just have to pay the annual fee that you normally would for a Costco membership?

Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
2NE1
Established Contributor

Re: Costco Amex membership requirement

@NewSurrender wrote:

So my aunt is a Costco member, and I'm not. I was told that she can add two people in the same household to her membership, as long as they live in the same household (I do, since I'm a college student). If I was added to her Costco membership, would that make me eligible for an American Express True Earnings card? YES. And, if I was eligible, what would happen when I moved out in two years? Would my card be cancelled? NO, but you would have to pay the annual fee as a new member I believe. Hence a new member# which will have to be added to your TrueEarnings card. Or would I just have to pay the annual fee that you normally would for a Costco membership? YES.

But honestly, you can move your of your aunt's place and keep the same number and all (if she doesn't mind paying the annual fee with you added to her membership). Does she have the gold star or the executive?
Message 2 of 20
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

I believe that you can be elligible to get the card if you're added on to her membership and I think that you could also let your membership lapse without incurring any additional fees.  

I don't have this card but I think this is how it works.

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX