Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Advice

tag
RD82
Established Member

Credit Advice

Hello Everyone,

I need your credit advice. I am not sure how much detail is relevant but here's my situation:

I imigrated to the USA in 2007 so I started off with one secured bank of America Card while I was a student. Currently, I only have 3 credit cards (Bank of America Platinum CL: $10,000,  Discover CL: $5,500 and a Capitalone card CL: $750). I also have a car loan for about $15000 now.

My current FICO credit scores are all 700+ and my yearly income is +$250,000.

I am trying to build a solid credit because in a year or two I am planning on buying a house and an office. My main concern about my credit is that I have a short credit history and very few revolving accounts. I've applied to a couple of credit cards a while ago before I started working and was denied. I have 4 hard credit inquiries on TU & EQ and 2 inquiries on EX.

Apart from making payments on time and keeping my debts low, what should I do? apply for more credit cards and accept more hard inquiries? Just stick to what I have and apply for a CLI? or do nothing at all?

Your input is greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit Advice

Hi RD,

I am an "immigran" too, and therefore, have a thin credit file as well. I would recommend  you nurture your current cards for a year or so (great credit limits, by the way).

If you are looking to buy a house via mortgage, remember that the loan officer will assume that you will max out your credit cards (the credit limits will count as debt when they are calculating your debt-to-income ratios). Also, remember to have all the applications for any credit done 6+ months before applying for mortgage.

All the best to you Smiley Happy

Message 2 of 12
RD82
Established Member