cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Card Balance

tag
JaredLaird

Credit Card Balance

Do creditors see your past cc balances? I have 1 cc and I have been carrying a high balance for a few months now. Needless to say my score took a huge dip, but I'm ready to pay off the balance and feel confident my score with bounce back. I am just curious if anyone knows if I apply for a new loan or cc will the creditors see the high balances I had in the past few months. I know it shows the high balance, but will it show consecutive months? Also my experian is at 668, do you  think my score could hit 700 because 668 is with 93% available credit usage. Thanks ahead of time.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Wolf3
Senior Contributor

Re: Credit Card Balance

They can see the past balances.  Your score will go up since only current utilization is used for score.

Message 2 of 9
JaredLaird

Do you think that might show them I'm risky if the past 3 months I have had a high balance? I have pretty well rounded credit otherwise. I'm trying to get above 680 ,do

you think I have a good chance of reaching that considering I only have 1 cc ?  When I pay of the balance being 30% of my score. Thanks

Message 3 of 9
tengtengvn
Frequent Contributor

My utilization was around 60%. After I paid them off, let 1 card report and keep utilization below 10%, my score went from 664 to 730.

Do some research before you app because you may get to 700 but most creditors also look at many other factors like your income, AAoA,...

What's in your wallet?
-Not Capital One.
Message 4 of 9
JaredLaird

Well that's very encouraging because everything else I have is well rounded. I have 7 active accounts all never been late, 6 closed accounts all never been late. I had 2 collections that have been paid off over 3 years ago. Do you mean you only had 1 cc as well and your score jump that much in one 30 day cycle?

Message 5 of 9
Uborrow-Upay
Valued Contributor

Hi, JaredLaird!