Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Card Chances

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit Card Chances

Wmarat,

Wow 16? Wow. That number makes me DIZZY! I think what I will do is apply for an American Eagle or Amazon.com card since I actually would use the card from one of those stores a few times for the year without making a huge purchase on it versus say a Walmart card that I would spike, as well as a BoA card and a CU card. That would put me up to four which is enough for me to handle. The only thing about that is that that would shut down the average age of my accounts. I guess it would pay off it in the long run.

Oracles,

Will do! I need to buy a book on amazon.com so I'll just put that on it.

Thanks again you two!

Message 11 of 19
oracles
Valued Contributor

@score_building wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

Oracles,

Thank you as well for your quick response. Here's the thing, I graduated in May and had a very hard time finding a job  (finally struck Bronze in October lol) so I had to depend on the credit card alot. I had a high balance ($440) that I had been paying down and I zeroed it out on Sunday. My next statement cuts on Feb 3rd. Are you saying I should charge something on it now even though it's paid in full or just let it report a zero balance and then charge something on it for my March statement? I will try a BoA unsecured card and see how that works out since you said if I get declined I'll probably be offered the secured card. As for the CU card do you think I should wait till March to apply for it or apply right as I join. I haven't heard very good things about Orchard so I'm hesitant but I'll definately research Chase though. Thank you so much for your advice! I appreciate it!

and with good reason, imho you needn't bother with orchard, unless you find you are short on other options.  a local cu, boa and a gas or store card should suffice.

Actually i agree with Wmarat and Score,