cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Card ''Float''....is it a dangerous game?

tag
kingkai1990
Contributor

Credit Card ''Float''....is it a dangerous game?

Hi all. 

I've been thinking about my credit card limits. Mine are very low like $500, once I get my credit score up hopefully I can get it much higher. 

But when I do, should I pay everything I can per month with my credit cards at the beginning of the month? Then pay those balances toward the end? I'm a college student, so my monthly costs are roughly $1,000 or so a month. I make about $2,000/mo with my internship (hopefully when I graduate that goes up). 

Most of my bills are debited. The only problem being, I'm not a fan of the debit. Everytime I pay my bills it takes forEVER for everything to come out. Example, my car payment with Wells Fargo takes 4-7 days to debit. My insurance does this too.  I get paid weekly so it's $500/week, which is great to look towards a paycheck every week but a double whammy because I think I have more in my account than I do...so it's a lot of micromanaging. 

Would it be smart if I just paid all of my bills on my credit card at the start of the month, then towards the third week just pay my credit card? 

The one risk I see with this is paying everything on my credit card but then possibly getting screwed somehow (murphy's law). 

What do you guys think? Thanks! 

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Remember0
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit Card ''Float''....is it a dangerous game?

Just make sure you have enough money to PIF the CC haha.

Also only thing else I can think of is if you utilize float, your util reported on your credit reports could go up. That'll hurt you when you try to apply for new credit. But to counteract that, just pay off your credit card BEFORE your statement cuts every month, so that the statement reflects a low balance. That way even your util is low.