Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Cards and Rent/Mortgage

tag
Joteism
Regular Contributor

Credit Cards and Rent/Mortgage

I have been living rent/mortgage free for about a year now. While poking around the Mortgage section of this forum, I came across the term "Payment Shock" (in simple terms; going practically from having no bills at all to paying mortgage or rent and not being able to adjust your finances accordingly, thus falling behind on your obligations).     Is this something that credit card companies also take into account if I were to put "None" or "0" on the mortgage/rent portion of a credit card application? Or do they look at it as a positive thing because I have all this money available to pay for my credit card bills? I currently make about 65k.

Prior to 2012 I had been renting for several years, but after my apartment burned down (arson) early 2012, I moved back to my parents house "temporarily" (my mom couldn't be happier). Smiley Happy

I do pay many of the bills now that I live there, but I obviously wouldn't have a ledger to show anyone because I don't pay actual rent...

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Credit Cards and Rent/Mortgage

Payment shock is very mortgage specific actually.  CC's don't worry about this at all to my knowledge; however, be aware they may impute some rent calculation for you when figuring out the Credit Limit they intend to offer.

I wouldn't worry about it though, it won't affect your approval changes much if at all, and it might even be a small benefit, namely more disposable income available if they don't impute the rent number.

        
Message 2 of 7
Joteism
Regular Contributor

Thanks - That's what I thought. It looks like there are quite a bit of people out there that are almost straight out of college with fairly high credit limits.

Message 3 of 7
bettercreditguy1
Established Contributor