cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit building strategy - thoughts on prior/future steps

tag
tbp1015

Credit building strategy - thoughts on prior/future steps

I'm a longtime reader of these forums, but I haven't posted much since I'm still learning. I’m hoping to get some feedback on whether I’m on the right track and what steps are recommended next. I’ve apped quite a bit over the past year and have quite a few inquiries to thank for it, but I think I’ve done a pretty good job of being deliberate about it. I’m currently gardening what I have, but I’m wondering what else folks recommend. I apologize for the long post. It seems frustrating for people when OP’s don’t give enough info for people to help, so here goes.

FICO scores – 717 (TU), 693 (EX), 679 (EQ)

• Relative to the others, EQ recently took a 20-point dip when I disputed a few things. I hope it will go back up in 2 weeks when the dispute is finalized.
  • Experian contains a medical bill and Comcast collections both from 6 years ago that I’ve been trying to negotiate a PFD. Otherwise, they’ll be off in a year
  • All three have latenesses from awhile back: 7 60-day lates on a student loan from one servicer; 3 30-day lates on 2 loans from a second servicer; and 3 30-day lates from CapOne. All of them are from 4 years ago. I’ve sent GW letters to Fedloan Servicing, Wells Fargo, CapOne, and the Dept of Ed Ombudsman. Hopefully some of those will pan out.

Income – 105K

Installment debt

• CapOne car loan – paid on time for 2 years, but refinanced 05/14 to get a better rate
  • Bank of America car loan (current loan) – starting balance $15,166; current balance $13,064
  • Student loans – very high balance (~250K) (grad school and law school were a killer)

Revolving credit (CL – 65,000; reporting balance ~1500 (PIF))

Cards Before May 2014

Macy’s (600 CLI; $0 balance) – opened 11/12; DOLA 05/13

Capital One Quicksilver One (3,500 CL; $0 balance) – opened 04/08; DOLA 02/15