Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit card analysis and strategy advice please

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit card analysis and strategy advice please

Howdy! Recently have taken a bigger interest in the world of credit and have done some financial cleaning. Been asking around on a few forums, however this one seems to be quite active so I am taking a thread from a different forum to see some of the responses here. Great website by the way Smiley Happy

First, a brief background. I am a 22 year old male. I am an army officer with a good income. My credit score with the 3 companies is ~740 each. I have 4 credit cards currently:

-2 generic VISA cards through Usbank and wells fargo (both of them around 4 years old with terrible rewards)
- an Escape discover card (recently acquired within the past 3 months, on an off note I have been told that acceptance for this card is relatively difficult?)

I have one installment loan (loan to pay for a bad semester in college where I thought it would be fun to ditch classes and lost my full ride for a semester, haha).

I have not applied for any other credit cards or anything else recently. My credit limit on my cards is in the 5 digits. My credit report with all companies is flawless: no missed or late payments, nothing. Average age for the cards is 2.3 years, with the longest card being 4.5 years. Debt utilization is always under 10%.

After having browsed through this website, I have decided that my near term goal (within the next year) is to obtain, in order of importance, the following credit cards:

Amex blue cash preferred card
Penfed travel card
Penfed gas card

With those combined, that would more or less cover every expense I make excluding rent. I plan on eventually moving to and opening up a business in central or south america, hence my preference for the quality airline rewards. Now for the actual questions!