Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit card for international students

tag
longtermgardener
New Contributor

Re: Credit card for international students

@100down0monthly wrote:

I stand corrected.  By clicking the "I am a US resident" on a credit card application as an H1B holder, wouldn't you be technically committing credit fraud?

You have to ask banks and USCIS this question. The day I joined a chip company in California, I opened a savings and checking account with BoFA. They also gave me credit card application and asked me to apply for a credit card. I filled out the form and gave it back to them 2 weeks after I got my SSN and I was approved with Visa Siggy with $9.5k limit. I didn't had any credit history in this country nor I had any knowledge about credit cards in US and it was BoFA who gave me my first credit card. All they looked at was my offer letter from my company, my passport and my SSN. Is there fraud committed by me?. Do you mean no work visa holders or international students should get credit card?.

Wallet : AMEX Costco TE 23k, BoFA 123 Visa Signature $12.5k, Marriott rewards $5k, Discover IT $1.7k, Walmart Discover $5.5k, Cap 1 Platinum $1500, Amazon $2000

Scores: EQ 712(9/28/13), EX 728 (9/28/13), TU 717 (Credit Karma 10/26/13), TU 753 Walmart (9/03/13)
Last app : 9/28/2013
Message 21 of 53
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

I certainly got my first credit cards here before I became a perm resident.  Long dropped off my credit report, but I had $1,000 CL from Bay Bank, took me 9 months to get it.

You can't really run up huge debts with a small CL, and of course there is nothing to prevent a PR running up the same debts and going back to the home region.  (And even citizens can do it!)

Message 22 of 53
enharu
Super Contributor

Longtermgardener:
You seem to be mistaken about what I have been saying. You can apply for cards. Most banks just require non-immigrants to apply in branches.