Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit cards and overseas travel

tag
quest208
Frequent Contributor

Credit cards and overseas travel

I have no experience in this:
I plan to be overseas for about 5 months starting in june 2012. Do credit cards normally charge extra fees when used overseas? (China). If so is there a card i can get that i can use in china without having to pay extra charges?

TU08 762
NFCU Visa Signature $20,000, Citi Prestige $15,500, USAA Mastercard $11,000, American Express Platinum, Barclays American Express $4700, Best Buy Mastercard $400, Orchard/Capital One $700
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
tntexans72
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit cards and overseas travel

@quest208 wrote:
I have no experience in this:
I plan to be overseas for about 5 months starting in june 2012. Do credit cards normally charge extra fees when used overseas? (China). If so is there a card i can get that i can use in china without having to pay extra charges?

I researched 6 months back on a card that I can use oversea without FTF. Comes down to 2 cards that are the best in terms of signup bonus/rewards etc.....IMHO.

Chase Sapphire Preferred

Capital One Venture

Look into those 2 cards....they both have no FTF. I am sure OP will have a couple they may want to recommend also. In the end, I went with the Chase Sapphire Preferred for their 50,000 signup bonus.

Message 2 of 5
dansparis

If annual fees are not a problem I agree with tntexans72, Chase Sapphie Preferred might be your best travel card considering the initial sign up bonus and various other travel benefits including no foreign transaction fees.