Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dead end CLs?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Dead end CLs?

Hello everyone,

I just started reading through the forums here today, after reading some conflicting info elsewhere. I was just wondering if I'm on the right track, and if there really are cards whose credit limits hit a glass ceiling, no matter what you do.

A bit of back story: I have some debt, all stemming from college. Debt owed to Sallie Mae, and debt from my school that I am paying to a collection agency. This made establishing any kind of credit pretty much impossible. In August 2008, I got a secured visa with Bank of America, with the minimum $300 deposit. I decided to hold off on getting an unsecured card, using the solicitations I was receiving in the mail as a barometer. In Oct '09, I got a mastercard with Capital One with a $500 limit, and then in Oct '10, a visa no fee card with Capital One, also with a $500 limit (set to step up to $750 in two months). Most recently, I was able to get the security deposit back on my BofA card, and they gave me a $500 unsecured limit as well.

I always pay on time, and in full sometimes multiple times if I really need to. I have never been late on a cc payment, and I've paid on my outstanding education costs on a regular basis for about 5 years. According to my credit report, I have a 14% credit usage (which transunion says is bad but equifax says is good??). My scores are low, though: 671 on Transunion, 651 on Equifax.

I am definitely done applying for credit for a long while, since I do not really need more. However, it would be nice to have a better limit on some, so I can make a large purchase (like plane tickets) without pushing 80% usage on a card. Am I on the right track, or will I be stuck with this magic 500 limit on everything? I was told that the history of my past due payments on my debt would be removed in 2013, so should I expect to be stuck with these limits until then? Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 10