Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: December 2014 - Garden Thread

@09Lexie wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

@-NewGuy- wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi Everyone,

I am new to posting in MYFICO Forums but I have been lurking around for a while looking at stories and experiences of people on how they have managed credit . 

My credit history goes 2 years back when I got a secured card (as a student) from WF. But I never ever used that secured card and ultimately closed it in beginning of 2013 . I was illiterate on how to use a credit card and always looked to use either debit card or cash.

After I graduated and had a job , I had get to car , but I needed a loan since I didnt have enough money . I didnt know even there was a credit score for having that unused secured card for about 6 months. When I went to CU's , I found that I indeed had one and it was around 740ish . Then I started learning everything about credit cards through this great forum . I got a car loan from a dealership at  high rate (8 %) , thanks to my thin file. Then I applied for my first credit card through my CU , then applied to discover (got approved) , applied to Cap1QS (got rejected) , Got another card from CU which financed the car loan thru dealership and finally got Walmart TU last month .

I looked at my Credit Karma report and my was score was around 664. I ordered credit reports through annual credit report and  found TU had 14 inquiries (10 of them thanks to Auto Loan) , EQ  had 8 inquiries and EX had 10 inquiries .

So my Goal here is to garden from December 2014 to November 2016 (All my credit inq. drop) , before I start applying for anymore cards . Also planning on getting new or preowned car in 2017 , till that I would be driving a $6K used car (hopefully no expenses) . In the next two years , I am looking to improve my credit score and achieve the targets mentioned in my signature . I would be looking for CLI's only through soft pull over next two years.