Did you mean: 

Denied Capital One Secured Mastercard

tag
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Denied Capital One Secured Mastercard

@dhon55 wrote:

Hi all,

I recently posted about how I have no credit history, and was denied the Cap1 Secured Card online.  I just got their letter in the mail, and it said the reason for the rejection was insufficient income.

I'm a student and I entered my (albeit low) stipend as a TA for the upcoming semester as income.  To my surprise, however, it did say my TU score is 679.  Apparently those student loans in "good standing" have established a credit score for me.

Unfortunately, the Cap1 inquiry will not fall off until Sep. 2014 (just checked my annual reports online).  Any advice on a future card I can apply for to establish and build my credit?  I'm not sure if I could qualify for student cards--Capital One denied me for only their secured card!  Should I try to recon with them or try elsewhere?

Thanks!

The inquiry only affects your FICO for the first year.  So in Sept. 2013 it won't factor in anymore.   Just a FYI.

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Current scores after adding $81K in CLs and 2 new cars since July 2013
EQ:809 TU 777 EX 790 Now it's just garden time!

June 2017 update: All scores over 820, just pure gardening now.
Message 21 of 36
Cranski
Valued Member

@dhon55 wrote:

Do you guys think I have a shot at reconning with Capital One and maybe saying I'm a full time student too, or is it pretty much set in stone because of income?

Edit:

Also someone mentioned CapOne Journey card.  But wouldn't they have my income saved on file from the previous app if I was to suddenly include the other sources on there?