cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied Upgrade to Macy's AMEX, recon denied..

tag
slarano
Frequent Contributor

Denied Upgrade to Macy's AMEX, recon denied..

I have been a Macy's cardholder (and employee) since 2008, have been an Elite cardholder since '09. I don't carry a monthly balance and shop several times monthly, spend thousands per year. I have no baddies on my credit reports, have never had a late, etc., and my denial letter from Macy's states that I have a 747 EQ FICO score. I also have a 752 TU FICO score from WalMart. I do have about $50K in student loans but they are all current since I graduated in '08. According to my credit reports, I've had one inquiry within the past year on Experian, although Macy's credit says they see 11! They use a combined scoring model based on the Experian report and internal scoring factors, and state that my "combined" internal score is 647... Am I just out of luck? I really just wanted the upgrade to the AMEX so I'd have it for emergencies...already have a real AMEX in Zync (NPSL) and plan to get a BCE the next time a good offer comes along.. I just don't get Macy's..
ImageImageImage

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
logan_720
Established Contributor

Re: Denied Upgrade to Macy's AMEX, recon denied..

When you started at Macy's did you already have a Macy's account? Or did they automatically sign you up when you started employment?

Message 2 of 9
slarano
Frequent Contributor

I already had one from applying online (Store Card only app) several months prior..
ImageImageImage

Message 3 of 9
tntexans72
Valued Contributor

Did they HP your report for the requested upgrade?

Have you thought about applying for the Macy's Amex?

I am sure you will get it if you try...sometimes, banks don't like to PC or upgrade.

Message 4 of 9
slarano
Frequent Contributor