cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied Wells Fargo Student Card -- Insufficient History with Bank!?

tag
dhon55
Contributor

Denied Wells Fargo Student Card -- Insufficient History with Bank!?

Hi everyone,

I've been posting here for a while on what to do next to get my first credit card.  First I was denied by Capital One for their Secured card due to "insufficient income."

I've just finally heard back from Wells Fargo after applying for their College student card.  The only reason listed for denying me for this card was a lack of or insufficient history with the bank.  Seriously!?

Admittedly, I opened a student checking & savings account with them just to get the card, but who is to say that I wouldn't stay with them for banking and use their card.  I'm just starting out as a student trying to get my first credit card, so I'm not sure why they would deny me for that one reason.

Any thoughts on what to do next?  Any chance of me being able to recon with them and complaining with some of my above thoughts? Smiley Sad

Thanks!

Goal Scores: 720+ (Experian Lender Pull 09/13): 733; Discover TU (01/14): 751; Walmart TU08 (02/14): 754;
WF Platinum (10/12) $1,600; WM Discover (12/12) $5,500; Amazon GE (12/12) $2,500; CapOne Quicksilver (12/12) $750; Discover IT (01/13) $1,000; Chase Amazon (02/13) $2,500; Citi Forward Student (02/13) $2,000; AMEX BCE (09/13) $15,000
Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
maiden_girl
Valued Contributor

Re: Denied Wells Fargo Student Card -- Insufficient History with Bank!?

Could you provide more info? FICO score? Income? So that users can try to assist you?

As of 2017, rebuilding...
Message 2 of 20
LS2982
Mega Contributor

@dhon55 wrote:

Hi everyone,

I've been posting here for a while on what to do next to get my first credit card.  First I was denied by Capital One for their Secured card due to "insufficient income."