Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied for CSP due to short credit history

tag
wantmyCSP
New Visitor

Denied for CSP due to short credit history

Hi all,

I've lurked here for a while, but first time posting.

Here's my situation:

I was turned down for the CSP due to not having enough of a credit history. However, I have 9 open accounts and an average age of accounts of 12 years. I am 37 and have had a student loan that I have paid religiously since I graduated more than 10 years ago. I have been an authorized user on two of my spouse's credit card accounts for 10 years (one has a CL of $8K, the other has a CL of $22K). We used to have a joint account (from 2000-2007) but closed it due to just not needing it at the time. I have one department store account which I have had open for 4 years.

I have absolutely no negatives of any kind on any of my credit reports: no delinquencies, no bankruptcies, etc. I am currently the primary breadwinner in my household, but feel I am being punished for the years when my spouse was the primary breadwinner and I relied on her credit and never bothered to get a card of my own. Now that I want one, they tell me I haven't proven creditworthiness due to my short credit history. Really?

Besides this inquiry for the CSP, I have had no inquiries in the past 2 years. I make $125K/year and only pay $750/month in rent (we pay $1500 total). I have lived in my current aparrtment for 4+ years.

The only reason I finally decided to get a card of my own is because I just started a new job in February of this year and for the first time in my career, I will be doing a lot of business travel. I figure now is the time to take advantage of points/rewards, etc. However, I do not NEED a credit card. My spouse and I are hyper-responsible and PIF every single month.