Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied, then approved?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Denied, then approved?

Hi everyone.

I recently applied for the Capital One Secured MasterCard, and I instantly got denied because of the associates recommended me to apply as a full-time employee, even though I am a full time student. After days of calling and talking to people from Capital One, I got approved with a credit line of $200 after making my deposit. Although, I got a hard inquiry on my credit score and I still don't know if it's going to go away. 

Help, please? Thank you.

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Denied, then approved?

Whenever you apply for credit, even secured cards, you are going to get an inquiry on your credit file. Capital One pulls from all 3 bureaus. 1 inquiry won't hurt you. Inquiries fall off your report after 2 years. 

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi everyone.

I recently applied for the Capital One Secured MasterCard, and I instantly got denied because of the associates recommended me to apply as a full-time employee, even though I am a full time student. After days of calling and talking to people from Capital One, I got approved with a credit line of $200 after making my deposit. Although, I got a hard inquiry on my credit score and I still don't know if it's going to go away. 

Help, please? Thank you.

Congrats on your approval! Is it customary for Cap 1 to pull a credit report for their secured card? As far as I know, anytime a person applies for credit an inquiry (SP or HP) is needed. I'm sure others will chime in. 

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

In 6 months of god use and keeping it paid, they'll graduate it to a regular CC and give you a 300 CLI. They're great for rebuilding and after a year, those INQ's will not matter.
Message 4 of 9
fltireguy
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: