Reply
Member
jdsteel731
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
0

Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?

I sent a secure message to a chase csr asking if it would be possible to switch my Mastercard Freedom to a Visa account.... no reply, nothing.

 

A couple weeks later, I log into my online banking, lo and behold, there is a new Freedom account in there. Of course, having not received any word back, I had forgotten about my earlier request, so I call up customer support. Sure enough, someone in Chase just decided to process it without my knowlege... she asked, would you like a copy of your new card? And I said, well yes lol.

 

Looks like all the information on the new card is the same, except for the account number. Same UR points, same balance, etc. So I'm just wondering, maybe for someone who has had a similar type of experience... did Chase just create a "mirror" Visa account to my already existing Freedom account, or did they grant me a new Trade Line?

 

Thanks.

Established Contributor
bettercreditguy1
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
0

Re: Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?

Call them and they can inform you or wait until you get your new card and then call.

Starting scores 01/02/2012 EQ 707(Fico) TU 733(Fico) EXP 735 (FAKO)
Updated scores 06/01/2014 EQ 797(Fico) TU 768(Fico) EXP 769 (Fico), EQ 849 (Next Gen 5/27/14 Penfed)


Remember the Three P's: Pay early in Full, Pay on Time, Patience
Established Contributor
djrez4
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎08-28-2012
0

Re: Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?

That's exactly what happened.  They "mirrored" your account.  The old account will remain open for 60 days and will disappear after that.

 

The same thing happened to me when I switched my CSP from MC to Visa.

New Contributor
melbaro
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-03-2012
0

Re: Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?

I did the same in changing my MC for a Visa. I'm OCD and having to "hide" the old MC account online bothers me! It reports as a new account on the reports, but is dated as the original.

 

I'm assuming this will happen again when I try and PC to a siggy...new number again...another account to "hide"...

Valued Contributor
navigatethis12
Posts: 1,940
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
0

Re: Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?


melbaro wrote:

I did the same in changing my MC for a Visa. I'm OCD and having to "hide" the old MC account online bothers me! It reports as a new account on the reports, but is dated as the original.

 

I'm assuming this will happen again when I try and PC to a siggy...new number again...another account to "hide"...


It should not be a new account on the credit reports; it should have completely replaced the old account. When you transition to a Visa Signature, the number should stay the same. What do you mean hide? After a few weeks the account gets deleted from online access.

New Contributor
melbaro
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-03-2012
0

Re: Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?

It reports as the original, but I logged in to CK yesterday and it said the original TL was no longer there and a new TL with the same account open date replaced it...

 

How long did it take for your original account to get deleted from online access? I got tired of looking at it, so I went to account options and "hid" the account. This makes it invisible on the "my accounts" page.

 

In regards to the siggy...don't they issue a new number as well? 

Member
jdsteel731
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
0

Re: Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?

Thanks for the responses! It seems weird that they can't just keep the same account number, since that would make bill payments and anything linked to the card so much easier, lol. I guess I'll just hide that MC account until it disappears anyway then.

Valued Contributor
navigatethis12
Posts: 1,940
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
0

Re: Did Chase clone my Freedom account or open a new TL?


melbaro wrote:

It reports as the original, but I logged in to CK yesterday and it said the original TL was no longer there and a new TL with the same account open date replaced it...

 

How long did it take for your original account to get deleted from online access? I got tired of looking at it, so I went to account options and "hid" the account. This makes it invisible on the "my accounts" page.

 

In regards to the siggy...don't they issue a new number as well? 


It was gone in less than a month. They should not issue another number for the signature version since all that changes are some benefits and the ability to go over the limit. It stays a Visa so nothing should change.

 


jdsteel731 wrote:

Thanks for the responses! It seems weird that they can't just keep the same account number, since that would make bill payments and anything linked to the card so much easier, lol. I guess I'll just hide that MC account until it disappears anyway then.


They cannot keep the same numbers because it changes over to another processing network. All Visas start with 4, Mastercards 5, American Express 3, and Discover 6. With a product change to another card with the same network the number should stay the same. Like if you switched from a Chase Freedom mastercard to a Chase Sapphire mastercard.


myFICO is the consumer division of FICO. Since its introduction 20 years ago, the FICO® Score has become a global standard for measuring credit risk in the banking, mortgage, credit card, auto and retail industries. 90 of the top 100 largest U.S. financial institutions use the FICO Score to make consumer credit decisions.

>> About myFICO
FICO Score - The Score that matters
Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Fair Isaac Corporation is a BBB Accredited Financial Service in San Rafael, CA
FOLLOW US Social Media Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google+
}