Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover More, take it or leave it?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Discover More, take it or leave it?

Looking for some advice here. I'm new to the credit game. I recently went on an app spree. I obtained a Chase Amazon visa 18.99% with a $2000 CL, PenFed Platinum Visa Cash Rewards $5000cl (unk apr as of now), and a US Bank REI Platinum visa, $3000, with 0% for 12 months(19.99% there after). I was denied by Amex(their loss!) I am currently approved for a Discover More, $1700, 3.99% for 6months, 22%(!) there after. I applied for the same card with a much lower apr and 0% for several months, plus the $200 bonus for $1000 within 3 months. My question for the community is, do I take it or leave it? Its not a very great offer, and as far as I know Discover isn't great with CLI's. Do I have any room for negotiating? I've already taken a hard for it, so are there any other negatives to accepting their offer? Thanks for your insight!

Also, if I don't accept their offer, what are the chances they will send me better pre-approved offers?

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover More, take it or leave it?

I would take the discover. ShopDiscover has some really good deals. Also ask them about special promotions. When I opened my account, I received $1 back for each of my first 20 purchases on top of normal cashback rewards.

Message 2 of 19
flowfaster
Established Contributor

If you plan on carrying a balance leave it. If you don't take it. Just max out the 5% cashback categories and then switch to another card if you wish. You can always ask for an Apr reduction later on.
Amex BCP/BC/Zync - Amex Business GR - Barclays NFL Visa Sig 49ers/Arrival - BoA BBR - Cap 1 Quicksilver - Citi Forward/Preferred - Chase Amazon/Freedom/Ink Plus - Discover IT - Fidelity Amex - GECRB Amazon/Walmart - PenFed PRV - Target - USAA Amex - US Bank CASH+/Club Carlson
Message 3 of 19
laboi_22