Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover Reporting Practices

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Discover Reporting Practices

I'm new to the Discover family so I was wondering if anyone knew when Discover decides to report to the CRAs.

I haven't even had my first statement generated and they have already reported twice including this morning to EQ (according to myFico), with a balance that is a couple of days out of date. Seeing as I want to optimize my utilization, I was planning on paying my balance down to zero before the statement cuts on the 19th. I'm assuming they are going to report again when the statement actually cuts.

So any experience with this? Are three reports during a billing cycle typical?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Closingracer99
Valued Contributor

Re: Discover Reporting Practices

They didn't report my card till around 3 months till after i got the card. After that they done it monthly for me 

My Cards: Amex BCE: $9,000, Amex Hilton HHonors: $2,000, Amex ED: $12,000, Barclays NFL extra points: $3,000, Bank of America MLB cash rewards: $17,000, BBVA compass NBA Amex triple double rewards: $17,000, Chase Amazon: $1,000, Chase Freedom: $9,000, Chase Sapphire: $5,000, Chase Slate: $5,000, Chase Disney: $4,000, Citi Double Cash: $5,400, Citi AA plat: $5,500, Citi Simplicity: $3,000, Citi Thank you preferred: $8,800, Capital one GM: $2,000, Capital one PlayStation: $3,000, Gamestop: $1,150, Amazon Store: $5,000, Ebay MasterCard: $5,000, American Eagle Storecard: $750, Macy's: $500
EX: 744, TU:750, EQ: 740
Message 2 of 8
Gunnar419
Valued Contributor

Extra reports during a billing cycle are unusual, but I'm guessing these were done because your card is new. Discover usually reports shortly after the monthly statement date, then typically skips a month's reporting after granting a CLI.