Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover Vs. AMEX

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Discover Vs. AMEX

I keep getting American Express offerers in the mail but I dont understand the big deal about them. I have a Discover More card right now and love it, but what is the advantage, if any, of having an American Express card over Discover. If there was no annual feee, I could understand, but what makes this card so great? Also does the annual fee divide into 12 months or do you have to pay it all at once. 

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover Vs. AMEX

This is just my opinion, but the reason why I use AMEX over Discover is that I find in my state that AMEX is accepted far, FAR more than Discover.  In addition, AMEX has decades of a reputation for being a premium brand with strong customer service and membership rewards.  Lastly, since I'm a business owner, AMEX has some of the best card technology and account management software to manage my expenses and spending, whereas Discover does not.

With regards to the fee, you pay the annual fee up front at the end of the year, but AMEX usually gives you the first year free to "try them out."  You can always cancel before the fee hits you if you're unhappy with them.  I would imagine that the reason why AMEX has an annual fee is to pay for their higher overhead (they have 100% American call centers to handle your issues, and these CSRs have superior customer service training than other call centers I've used) and also to pay for their membership rewards program and high cash back cards (definitely better than many card companies, though not perfect).  I find the annual fee on my Zync card to be well worth it.

Message 2 of 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

^ yeah I just applied for the AMEX Zync and got approved. We'll see how it goes . So far I my Discover has been a good card to me so lets see how AMEX does. 

Message 3 of 21
PRILEY
Regular Contributor