Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover dropped my limit from 800 to 500 because

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover dropped my limit from 800 to 500 because

@Anonymous wrote:
Your right about that. When I was a student and had a four figure income I could barely afford a bus ticket. Still my first CC had a 5k limit. I know income plays a part in limits, and agree that it's odd that the OP has such a small limit. Something doesn't seem to add up, I mean even if the OPs credit is awful than why even approve them at all.

True but my daugher started out at Walgreens as a front check out girl.  Can't say what her salary was but you can best believe it wasn't much.  She started with a secured BofA card and within the year, that turned into a 5k limit regular BofA card.  No change in salary.  She was very responsible with that card.  I can't say what tips the scales further, your income or your responsiblity handling those cc's.

Message 31 of 61
Saleen099
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

@Saleen099 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

@ezdriver wrote:

they saw "too many inquiries" on my credit when they reviewed it. By the way, I don't need more credit. I did not apply for any cli. The card is simply being used to strengthen my credit profile. Why were the inquiries there? Because I was shopping for a car around the Memorial Day weekend. I bought a Porshe 911 C4S. I make six-figure income. My only other significant debt is my home mortgage. I laughed when I saw the alert. I wrote back to Discover that I will use their card to buy only chewing gum each month so feel free to never increase it.. lol

Did a human review actually did such a stupid thing or a computer did it?

then what the heck were you doing with 800 limit discover card in the first place? just cancel the card and don't even bother. I'm sure with your income, you can get other credit cards with much higher credit limit.