Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover floating due dates?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Discover floating due dates?

Since I'm new to Discover (March 2017) I wanted to see if anyone else can confirm that their due dates float a bit...

My statement date has been on the 13th since I changed my due date early on to fit with my income date monthly.  August 13, September 13, October 13, November 13, December 13...

My due date for the first 4 months was always the 8th of each month.  I went in to pay off my Discover card today and noticed it says December 12th is the due date, which puts it 1 day before statement cut.

Is this something that fluctuates month to month?  Something special for Christmas month?

I am writing my own personal finance app like Mint and one of the things I put in is cash flow expectations which let me manage spend in order to make sure I keep cards PIF'd and avoiding interest while maximizing interest earned in my savings account I keep my payoff funds in.  So changing the due date out 4 days doesn't account for much, but 4 days of interest is 4 extra days of interest!

Just curious if I should expect Discover to switch back to the 8th in January or expect the due date to fluctuate.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

Re: Discover floating due dates?

I'd ask. I believe the law prevents due dates from fluctuating. That used to not be the case. However, the statement cut date can fluctuate.

Message 2 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

I do plan to ask today at least via online chat.

I also made a note to myself to look into the guidelines for statement/due dates per the laws.

Even though it's in my favor, and all my CC's are on autopay "just in case", I still freaked out a bit because I don't like variances when it comes to things like this.