Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I just garden now?

tag
Kostya1992
Established Contributor

Do I just garden now?

Hey everyone, me again. As some of you probably know by now, I'm fairly new to the credit game.

Some background on me: 22 college student, transffering to university Jan 2015. Currently working making around 10K a year.

Currently I have 7 inquiries on my record. Six of them will be 1 yr+ in age at the end of the year. These are the only "negative" things on my report, no deragatory marks.

I'm currently AU on two AU accounts that I manage (they're my mothers, but she wants me to build her credit so we're on the same page) - 1 Chase Freedom 1000CL, 1 CapOne Platinum 750CL.

I also have a 300CL CapOne Journey card and a student loan that I recently took out to establish a payment history. The loan is government subsidzed so there is no interest (long as I'm in school) and its a Stafford loan so no inquiry.

All 4 of these tradelines were opened recently, 1-2 months ago. So my AAoA is very low.

I've been thinking of opening some secured tradelines enhance my credit building, but don't want the inquiries on my account so considered not to add those.

I'm VERY responsible, I will never miss a payment unless I somehow end in a hospital or something like that, so that's taken care of. I also pay off my balances, I don't spend unless I have the cash on hand to back the spending.

My current goal is to get my own Chase Freedom card, I currently have a checking/savings with Chase.

Now to the question, what would you credit gurus do if you were in my position? Would you just garden? For how long?

Once again, any insight is highly appreciated. Thanks!

TU08 FICO850
EX08 FICO850
EQ08 FICO850

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
sailor_mercury
Valued Contributor

Re: Do I just garden now?

@kostyan1992 wrote:

Hey everyone, me again. As some of you probably know by now, I'm fairly new to the credit game.