Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I really need a store card to mix?

tag
DavidZeng
Regular Contributor

Do I really need a store card to mix?

Hi guys, I read a lot of posts about the store card. Is it really necessary for my situation? I am new to credit card here, you can see the cards I have in my sig. I just wonder if I should get a store card to help the score, since my AAOA is less than 1 month and my file is really thin, have 3 HP on EX. 4 TL now. 

I am thinking about get a VS angel card(I love to purchase those stuff for my GF) or Amazon store card. Coud you please give me some advice? Do I really need a store card? 

Thanks, any advice or post will be appreciated! 

Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Do I really need a store card to mix?

You have a good mix of cards right now and AMEX Green is a Charge card. Store card figures into FICO like a regular credit card does though it reports as a charge card it is in fact a revolver. If you want one because you are going to use it I don't see a prob with that.

Message 2 of 23
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

At this point a store card might help, although the mix part of the score is fairly small but remember that it will decrease the AAoA as well, and get an inq.   I might be tempted to get it now if possible, to start the aging process as soon as possible.   But get one that would be useful to you in some way.

Message 3 of 23
DavidZeng
Regular Contributor

So with AMEX green, I got the mix just like regular cc and a store card? Since the store card will be seen as a charge card when considering FICO mix? 

Message 4 of 23
hot4u
Established Contributor

I wouldn't mess with it if not needed. Store cards are  Tier 1's.

In future do some searching on Tier 3's Like Loans AKA Installment loans car loans secured loans for Credit mixtures.Personally I don't go with the flow here. You have good mixture of CC. I would let your cards Age....