cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do student cards limit your chances of CLIs?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Do student cards limit your chances of CLIs?

I have a BoA cash rewards  (orginally 800$) and Discover IT (1000$) but both are apparantly STUDENT cards (im a junior in undergrad) and I think my low limits (less than 5% of my salary of ~21,000$ is due to them being labeled as "student." This stinks like a rotten egg. So when I graduate do I update them or something? Call up BoA and Discover and tell them "I no longer go to school, stop giving me joke limits"  Or do I have to apply for the "non baby" versions of discover IT and BoA. My fico score was 743 when I applied so I was not much of a liability. Yea I didnt have too much of a history but I TRUELY think that if I simply opted for the regular card I would be treated like an adult and maybe been given a limit of at least 2k... 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
red259
Super Contributor

Re: Do student cards limit your chances of CLIs?

Some lenders will want to upgrade your card. Others will let you PC your card and some lenders will let you keep your student card. However, you should notify your lenders of your new income if you are employed and that your graduated. Most will let you do it through their website. The reason being is you will be much more likely for a CLI that way.  

;
Starting Score: EQ: 714, TU 684
Current Score: EQ: 725 7/30/13, TU 684 6/2013, Exp 828 5/2018, Last App 8/5/17
Goal Score: 800 (Achieved!) In garden until Sepetember 2019
Message 2 of 5
Josh2942
Established Contributor

Im not sure really. I am a freshman undergrad and started with a Cap 1 Journey Card college at 500. I was able to PC to a Quicksilver Card and get a CLI to 2,000 which happened in only 7 statements. I do have a Wells Fargo card that is also college and they wont give me a CLI for anything and I never carry balances or pay late

Jaguar F-Type R Loan 50K Balance