cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does AMEX really care where you used their cards?

tag
GoldenloveNY
Frequent Contributor

Does AMEX really care where you used their cards?

So I was browsing the forum's archives, and I came across a few people saying that AMEX monitors their cardholders and where they use their charge and credit cards. A poster (Can't remember the name) even said that AMEX doesn't like their cardmembers to used their charge cards in places like Walmart and supposedly canceled a member's card for that reason. Supposedly, they like to see their members use their cards for upper class reasons.

This all seem silly, and I am not even sure why I am bringing this up. But this is a forum where people can ask questions (as stupid as they may be) and get feedback. I am using my ZYNC for almost all my expenses, and even for silly things, like coffee. I don't care. They know I am a college student. I am not going to be using my card for travel or expensive hotels/dinning places as their super weathly cardmembers do. 

Citi Double Cash: $1,000
Capital One Secured: $500
Capital One Savor One: $1,650
Amex Gold- NPSL.
Amex Platinum- NPSL.
Amex Delta Gold: $1,000
Best Buy Store Credit Card: $2,000
Amazon Store Credit Card: $6,000
Verizon Visa Card: $2,000

Bj's Perks Elite Mastercard: $2,300

Merrick Credit Card: $1,400
First Savings Credit Card: $1,250
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
JM-AM
Valued Contributor

Re: Does AMEX really care where you used their cards?

While others have mentioned that Amex cares, in my personal experiences I have never had any issues using my Amex card any place including Walmart. As a matter a fact right now Amex and Walmart are advertising together to use your Amex. 

While this could have been a concern from the past in my opinion it no longer exist if it ever did to begin with.

Good Luck
May all your dreams and wishes become a reality!
Message 2 of 17
GomerPyle
Regular Contributor

@GoldenloveNY wrote: