cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does AmEX usually start you with a low CL?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Does AmEX usually start you with a low CL?

I just joined the forum today and I have a question. I am new to using credit cards for rewards. I have three cards that I have had for about 16 years, but I never used them for rewards. They were mainly for emergencies or the ocassional larger purchase that I wanted to pay for over 2-3 months. I came across a few blog articles on this subject and decided to apply for a few decent cash reward cards. Last November I apped for the Discover It and Cap 1 QS. Last week I decided to go ahead and app for the AmEx BCP because I spend the most on groceries and gas. I was surprised when they only gave me a $2k CL. This seems so low in comparision to my other cards. I called CS and they told me I had to wait 60 days to request an increase. The rep I spoke to couldn't tell me why it was so low. Is this just normal for AmEX?

I have very good credit. My utilization is always less then 10% and I PIF all my cards every month. Once in a blue moon if I have a 0% offer I will carry a small balance for a few months, but that is rare. I have a very long and thick file with zero derogs. The only thing I can think of is the 2 new accounts I opened 5 months ago, or my income. I didn't include my husbands, but mine is $58k. Should I have used his also? I did add him as an authorized user. I have never used income before and never recieved such a low CL.

Thanks.

Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Does AmEX usually start you with a low CL?

ttt

Message 2 of 23
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: