cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Income matter- Chase Sapphire Prefered?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Does Income matter- Chase Sapphire Prefered?

My income is 25k and I am a student, look at my signature for my CCs. Do you still think your income is low for 5k limit?!

Message 11 of 26
kimmiller112
Frequent Contributor

@tin369 wrote:

I know and that worries me coz, the highest CL I have is $3000 and only 2 credit cards.

How good are my chances with Amex gold or Amex costco?

If your highest CL is $3000, you won't get approved for the Sapphire.  They require an existing CL of $5000 before they will grant one.  You may be better off starting with Chase Freedom.  But, like the others said, your time on the job may be the deal breaker.

Barclays USAir World MC $8300 - DCU $7500 - USAA World MC $7000 - PayPal Extras MC (GE) $5500 - Chase Saphire Preferred $5000 - Discover It $6000 - Barclays Sallie May $2700 - Chase Freedom $1000 - Capital One $8500 (business) - store cards ranging from $500-$9500
Message 12 of 26
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

@kimmiller112 wrote:

@tin369 wrote:

I know and that worries me coz, the highest CL I have is $3000 and only 2 credit cards.

How good are my chances with Amex gold or Amex costco?

If your highest CL is $3000, you won't get approved for the Sapphire.  They require an existing CL of $5000 before they will grant one.  You may be better off starting with Chase Freedom.  But, like the others said, your time on the job may be the deal breaker.

I don't think that's accurate for all folks; there's a number of sigs on these forums of folks with a CSP (which is admittedly a sweet card) with nothing else close to that strata.  If I had a couple of years history (like 2-3), a 3K CL somewhere else, and 50K+ income, I'd take a shot at a CS/P; I think both the regular and the preferred have the same underwriting criteria anyway.